O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

2009 New Year's Eve on 2009-01-04

So, I haven't had the chance to write about New Year's Eve- it was so much fun.

The evening started when I caught the train with my friend to go to a mutual friend's house and we were very late already. This was topped by getting lost from the train station to her house, causing us to be another 20 minutes late. It didn't matter in the end.

When we got to her house we decided to go into Central London, we shot through a few last minute change of plans but stuck to our original idea. We took the tube from a nearby station, which was really fun as there was a group down the other end of the carriage singing The Twelve Days Of Christmas, but only knew up to five. So my friends and I began to join in and it was fun for the whole carriage as it was a very large group thing, with many people joining in.

When we got into London, we walked around for a bit and befriended two French guys, who we talked to for a while. Their English was pretty good and I learnt that one lived "one to two from Harrods". I still don't know what that means. We eventually lost them when some of my friends bumped into a group of their friends and so we all went around together. We came across a metal gate with a few people standing around it and found out that it was the last gate to be opened to get to the viewing area for the fireworks by Embankment. This was really good timing as we got an amazing place, with only just over an hour wait.

The countdown from 11pm to 2009, lasted forever, but we drank and danced along to the tracks being played over the sound system. The countdown from 10 was a lot of fun and when the new year came in, we had a selection of party poppers and cheap champagne. We watched the fireworks and sang Auld Lang Syne before heading off with everyone to find the station home. This somehow took about two hours of wandering around, but it was really good fun as everyone got along with each other and I met a lot of new people, who I really like.

We all managed to get on the tube on the way home and messed around for a bit until our stop. When I got off with two college friends, we said our goodbyes to the others and continued on to her house. It was really nice at her home, as we had left overs from their family party and more champagne, so we were able to do a proper toast. We then made a pot of tea and continued to talk until around 5am, when we made our way to bed.

In the morning, we drank more tea and watched a few episodes of Gilmore Girls before heading home.

It was such a great way to bring in 2009 and I think from the tone set, it's going to be an amazing year.

Rosie xxxx