O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

The Feeling on 2006-11-04

YESTERDAY ! FRIDAY 3RD NOVEMBER :]

Okay, I admit it.

I secretly like indie-pop.

Well, the KINGS of indie-pop.

The Feeling.

And tonight.

Was the night.

To experience how cheery little songs can performed.

Why am I typing like this?

At the end of last year, I bought tickets for Kirstie and I to go and see The Feeling, however unfortunately she couldn't make it. This meant only one thing. My sister. (As she was home this weekend x_x)

I left home, to be driven in rush hour traffic, to Shepherd's Bush Empire in London. If you've ever been around there at the time of rush hour, you'd know the true meaning of traffic. While I was looking out the window, I saw the bassist of The Feeling. I was tempted to knock on the window and get his attention but I knew it would be the wrong person.

Turned out that it WAS him :]

The queue didn't take as long as I though, which was nice. The security guards kept on making fun of me because I was constantly fiddling with my tshirt.

Once we got into the floor area, where we had tickets ^^ !!, I went to the merch stall. I was talking to the guy there who showed me all the sizes and told me which he thought would fit me. Just before I paid, he told me that he didn't have much change so he asked if it was okay if I could buy a couple of badges to take the price up to �20. Now I think about it, he could have been lying.

The area downstairs is so much better than upstairs, when I went to see Taking Back Sunday last January. For instance, there were about eight nice toilets, instead of two dirty ones. Oh, yay.

Just after eight the support Captain came on. They were alright, as far as unknown indie support bands go, but it's not really my scene to say what's good or not. It all sounds the same to me honestly. They went on for a lot longer than I thought, but maybe because I wasn't enjoying it that much- but they were talented.

Oh? Did I not mention that I was the youngest person there? I'm not kidding. I didn't find anyone who was at least my age there. They were all 19 - 40 year olds.

Around nine, the S.B.E went dark and all this strobe lighting came on. They started to sing and everyone joined on. After the verse, The Feeling came onto the stage and continued playing.

At first we were all a bit rigid, like London crowds are, but eventually we were as energetic you can get for indie.

They played the usual songs you can expect from The Feeling.

Dan is a great frontman, he's got a good stage presence. He kept on getting us to clap up high during:

BBBBBBBABY!
I think I'm going
CCCCCCCCRAZYYY !
And why should I be sane
Without YOUUU?

Which was my second favourite part.

My favourite, definitely, was the cover of Video Killed the Radio Star. If I didn't play as much DDR as a kid, I would not know the words to that. It was incredible and I'm hoping that there's going to be a film on it on youtube to show you.

Halfway during the show, the man next to me tapped me on the shoulder. Naturally, I freaked out but he was just asking that if I wanted any pictures, he'd take them for me because he said he had a great view. I agreed because it's a bad camera and I wouldn't mind if it did get stolen because my replacement one would be better. Even my phone camera is better and THAT'S saying something.

I did get my camera back, with a good few pictures on it- which were taken well :]

I asked him later if he could take another for me.

There were these two TALL girls behind me, who halfway during the set, they pushed right in front (actually pushing us apart and standing IN FRONT) and stood in the way of me, my sister and this other short woman. I was annoyed at the very least and spent a good few minutes standing riiiiiiiiiight next to her, making sure she got pushed at every little movement. After the song that she did this in finished, I made the point that every clap I clapped, I would hit her in the back. It's petty, but it made me feel better. She must have thought I was a weird clapper though. The other girl had frizzy hair that kept on getting in my face. It took me a great strength NOT to hit their heads together.

When the set finished, we waited ages for the encore. There was actually around five minutes of stamping, clapping, screaming, cheering, stomping and "FEEL-ING. FEEL-ING". Usually it's about three minutes, so imagine that compared.

They came out and finished with Blue Piccadilly, which is a decent song from them.

I'd like to see them again live because they're just so lovely.

Photographs!

Captain:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The Feeling's Dan (my picture x_x):
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Dan (not my picture :]):
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Dan:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Dan:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

DAN AGAIN:
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Rosie xxx