O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

Le Weekend en France on 2005-06-26

The perfect little French weekend getaway was bluntly, more or less a little disastrous.

Friday afternoon I had to rush finish my GCSE coursework after the previous nights work on it was worth nothing of my effort as the laptop stopped working until half one in the morning, leaving me with very, very little sleep. After Science I ran home to get dressed before driving off to Northern France. By this time everyone was 'picky' at me. For the five hour drive a head of us, this left me a little annoyed and short fused, just one of those days for me. Needless to say, I was a pain for that evening.

The next day my sister, Holly turned ill. At every opportunity she would vomit practically anywhere. As i was sharing a hotel room with her, this wasn't ideal. On the way to St Omer she was constantly sick in the car right next to me. Even though she half couldn't help it, she was getting on my nerves. Half the time she was making herself sick, and the other half was automatic. Before the afternoon my sister was asleep in the car next to a market. My dad took me up through a park towards a pretty big market where I bought a few typically French thread bracelets and a Roy Lichtenstein inspired belt. When we got back to the car we dropped my sister back at the beautiful hotel that we were staying in. She settled in our room and the rest of us drove five minutes to the small town near the hotel. In this town we ate lunch and did some shopping. We ate very large French bread sandwiches and drank coke. We bought some shopping and I happily bought the black pyramid leather belt that I've been seeking for what seems forever.

That evening I stayed in the hotel room with my sister when my parents went out to dinner. I watched a two hour long special Fort Boyard. I finally fell asleep for the first time in ages, which was perfect. Only to be woken up by my sister "playfully" woke me up. Not to all: never wake me up, especially "playfully" or even wake me up to tell me to go to sleep.

Today was gradually better. We woke, ate and toured the little towns until this evening when we took the train home, to be caught in major traffic jams.

At home I was going to pack my school bag when I discovered that a discarded water bottle had opened and soaked the entire contents of my bad, including exercise books, my desperately needed homework diary, my text books and my library book. Now all drying out, I hope that no one will get overly annoyed about this.

Overall, it wasn't an entirely awful weekend, I would have preferred to stay home, true, but I'm definitely not ungrateful.

Rosie xxx