O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

Work Experience on 2007-07-05

I've been bust with work experience this week.

The first day, on Monday, wasn't too bad. I already knew my placement at my mum's school pretty well, because I've been helping out there for seven years. It really was a no questions asked type of placement. I came and I did.

On Monday, anyway, I sat in with some eight years olds, which was amazing. I really love that age because it's not whiny, but it's still fun. Two kids, Saud and Tilly, took a shine to me, which made me pretty happy. Saud was so enthusiastic about everything, he alone made my day.

On Tuesday I went into the nursery, which I wasn't too keen on. The day was pretty awful, because well there were four, according to my handbook, "faecal and urinary accidents". Best thing ever was that Kirstie and I laughed for ages over that phrase when we read my handbook. That kind of put me off.

Wednesday was alright. Everyone somehow overcame their bladder problems in the nursery, which made me happy. In the afternoon the nursery practiced for a formal prize giving event in the local church. It was alright because I didn't absolutely nothing, other than sitting next to a two year old, who was someone's grandaughter. She kept on playing with my bracelets. Bless, it was adorable.

Today they had the prize giving event in the morning and that was it. It was pretty boring, because I've seen it all before. But, actually, it was inspiring seeing everyone (and I mean the whole school, everyone) getting awards, it was nice because I've never got an award at prize giving. It was like they were living the dream.

The school finished for the summer after the event, which meant they all went home. I stayed though and helped moving books, tables and chairs because some classes were swapping. It was tiring work, because everyone else left for ages while I carried on.

During the week there were two other girls, a year younger than me, and a French exchange boy, who was around my age. I didn't get on at all with the two girls, because they were so ignorant. Every time they made conversation, I wanted to kill either myself or them to make it stop. On the other hand, I got on pretty well with the French boy.

Talking with him was pretty amazing though, because his French and my English kept on clashing. In the end we decided on English because it worked out best. Also, he was here to learn more English, so I guess it was the best choice. It's not fair on anyone, to try and decode my "French".

One conversation we had really stuck out in my mind. Somehow or other we got onto Muse, which we're both crazy about, when he struck this gem (or charade) "I hate *cuts at his leg* short skirt and *waves his arms and squeals* No ten year girls *wrings hands as if to strangle them*... I like groupie". It was nice to have a friendly face around there, and someone I could talk to, using the term "talk" loosely. He almost kept me sane during the nursery times. I'm going to miss him actually, way more than those other girls.

I have an induction day at a college tomorrow, although it's for a back up placement. I'm nervous, I think. I'm not sure what to do with myself in new environments.

Rosie xxx