O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

College Induction on 2007-07-06

Edit: I've re-read this entry and I can't believe how incoherent is it.

As I mentioned in yesterday's entry, I had my induction day for college. It's not the college that I've mentioned that I want to get into, but it's a back up placement. I ended up re thinking my ideal situation.

I properly didn't want to go this morning. Anything unfamiliar, I tend to get really anxious about. To the extent of feeling physically ill, which is rubbish. I deal with it, but it's not a great feeling. My mum drove me there this morning, because I was all over the place.

When I got in I sort of trailed around to find the sports hall, where I got my timetable for the day. I followed basic instructions to find my way to a base room. I don't know if it's the form for next year, or just for the day. I hope it's for next year though.

In the base room, I ended up talking to this kid called Josh about The Mighty Boosh. One thing I like about that, it's like a small club. You only really know what you're saying, if you're into it. You can only really talk about it, if you're not just watching it for the recent Noel Fielding/ Russell Brand wave. I ended up sitting with him during the induction talk. Other than Josh, I talked to another girl about very basic things, she wasn't that friendly though. There are about five other girls in my form, out of twenty, which is really weird, considering I'm from a thirty-a-class girls' school. The girls are all very high maintenance, I was almost scared to bump into them. They all knew each other too, which made me feel lonely. Another kid, called Dan, seemed alright.

After that I went into a trial English Literature lesson, which was awkward. Everyone was very quiet and only spoke when spoken too. I made small conversation with two girls near me, but I can't remember their names. They were interested in art, which made me feel at home. Actually, one girl was pretty funny and I hope that I'm in her class next year.

When I went outside after that lesson for the break, I was quite awkward and so, thank God, I saw someone from my current school. I went over and talked to her, during that two other girls from our school came over as well, it was nice to have some sort of reassurance to know what I'm doing. Or at least look like I wasn't such a reject. I ended up going to the college cafe, where I met another girl from my school and talked to her quickly, when Jonny and Mick, two previously mentioned boys from my primary school and still alright friends, came up and that felt even more reassuring. I introduced them to the girl who I was talking to and I ended up feeling more sociable than I have in a long time.

In the afternoon, I went to a few more trail lessons, which were philosophy, fashion and film studies. I ended up being the only girl in my film studies class, which was really odd because I thought it was predominantly male, but not so much as twenty-odd to one. After film, there was a free choice of lesson trial if you were unsure about your options. I wasn't bothered about changing, so I went into a Media lesson where, again, I was the only girl. The kid next to me in Media didn't say one word during the whole lesson, other than answering any general questions I asked to make conversation. Actually, I don't even know his name.

I also got to know this other girl called Haley, who was really nice. At first it was a general "dear god, where do we go?" conversation, that then evolved.

Overall there were more people that knew each other, but if you ask me, that's more of a problem because you don't get the chance to make new friends, which actually sounds quite childish. It's important though, to have a friendly face. I think.

Weird thing is, the college induction day I went to was my backup college and now I'm pretty sure of changing my mind all together and going there instead of my previously preferred college. I've weighed out the options. I'm going to do English and film in both. Fashion and theatre design are both similar. I already have acquaintances there, while in the other I have none. I come from a very small school, while today's college has the amount of people in my whole school in just one year, the other one has many, many more people. But saying that, I'm also more suited to the people from today. So, the only apparent downside is not doing photography, which I might be able to do, during the free period. Thinking about that, today's college is a much better choice, but it's completely different to the one I was hell-bent on going to.

This is going to be a difficult situation.

Rosie xxx