O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

College Induction Two on 2007-09-06

So, yesterday I had my third induction day at college. Also, this was my first time getting there by myself, instead of being driven. I had to take two trains, with a 18 minutes wait in between. I've taken the train by myself before numerous times, but never on this certain route and without being taken on it before. Totally unknown.

I left earlier than I would have, for that emergency just-in-case time, getting down to the station about ten minutes before it left. Turned out there was a pretty slow queue for buying tickets and I didn't have my Oyster card then. I finally managed to get the ticket, almost sick with nerves because of step one- getting on the train.

A couple of minutes later, when I walked up to the platform, I saw the train door's close. Great.

I went to sit down, pretty shaken up, because step one of this whole new journey went wrong. Surprisingly, I didn't cry, but I was probably close to it. I decided to stick around for the next train and play this by ear.

Fortunately, by taking the later train, I completely eliminated the 18 minute wait and I managed to get on the second train, no problem. Also, luckily, there were several kids my age there- most probably going to the same event I was.

When I got there, walking behind a thin crowd, it came to an actual two way path, so I had no idea. I turned around and saw this girl standing next to me, so I smiled and said to her that I was hoping following everyone would get me somewhere. She laughed and then told me her name, but I can't remember it at all. I made conversation with her for a while, as we tried to get to the sports hall, but eventually she just wasn't trying and I figured she probably found me annoying. Thank God, though, a minute later, someone I knew called for me and so I snuck off and stood with her. After this two more girls I knew came over and one of their friends, called Craig (or something).

After that I went to find out my form room, which was in the art block. So, I was happy. There were only about six other kids that were in my form there today, and the others showed up on different days. I talked to this girl called Phoebe (all these names are actually just for my personal reference, because I should remember them). I met my form tutor, who is also my fashion textiles teacher and she seemed nice enough. One of those jolly, slightly odd, art teachers- I'm sure you know the type.

We then got paired off to go around and attend different meetings. I was with this ill-looking girl called Emily. She was very, very thin, had a mature face and looked insanely tired. She was pretty nice though and we got along quite well, but it didn't really strike me that I'm going to be with her for the next two years- to be honest, I felt sorry for her.

The whole induction day went from around 11am through to 4:30pm, this ultimately meant that I missed lunch and I was too nervous to eat breakfast. During one the talks, my stomach couldn't stop rumbling, but I pretended it was the girl next to me. I probably didn't fool anyone. So, when I had to "Meet The Tutor" one on one, in our pairs (the other one just stood around), it began to rumble again. During Emily's talk, I asked if I could go to the toilet and I ate a cereal bar in there. Needless to say, it was an adrenaline rush, but I felt a bit sorry for myself because eating in toilets actually breaks my heart. Whatever the situation.

At the end of the day, I walked back to the train station where I unfortunately ran into the girl who I talked to first, I felt like a had to say hello and made small talk before she turned her back on me. Just after that though, a girl from my primary school saw me and I walked over to stay with her. I talked with this other kid called Joe, who my friend had been paired with. I had a really good time with them all and I really hope that I'll see more of both of them when I actually start.

Oh, and on the way back, I actually managed to get home.

I officially start next Tuesday. Help.

Rosie xxx