O L D

N E W

P R O F I L E

N O T E S

R A N D O M

M Y S P A C E

T W I T T E R

H O S T

-

P R E V

&

N E X T

2004 - 2009

Liverpool Street on 2008-01-13

Several times on Friday, I told this story. It's not particularly interesting or insightful. It's just something that happened.

I was sitting on the train platform ready to go to college reading the Metro (a free London newspaper that you can pick up in most stations and also a nearby bus station I found out a while ago, anyway it's a good newspaper but you've got to get there quickly to get one because they go like hot cakes- was this bracket really necessary?) and this man comes up to me, around thirty years old. He's wearing a pin stripe suit and has a proper The Avengers gentleman's umbrella. I haven't seen someone this British since the Queen a few years ago. That was exciting. So I was sort of looking at him, trying to read the Metro, when he came up to me asking how to get to Liverpool Street.

I didn't really know what to do because I don't like to give directions because I panic and just point to anywhere, so I just said "Uh, I'm sorry. I'm not quite sure". I expected his to go after that, but he stayed around and said "Oh, thanks anyway... You see, I don't really know this area very well or how to get anywhere." Fair enough to say "thanks", but by adding on that extra piece of information I felt like I had to continue the conversation, so I said "I could try to work it out, but I know that I'll end up giving the wrong directions and I don't want to be held responsible for you being late for whatever you have to do."

Believe me, I kicked myself after that. He laughed at me and then we just stood in silence for about twenty seconds, it was so awkward. So he then ducked his head and walked off to ask someone else. I sighed and got back to the Metro.

Thing is, I actually know how to get there- so I could have helped.

I need to learn how to stop blowing up small events into stories and telling them to everyone. My friend in philosophy said she likes to hear them and she said that she wished I had a blog. I didn't tell her I did though.

Rosie xxx